Five Karnataka candidates file nominations for RS polls

Originally from Pauri Garhwal district Anil Baluni is considered close to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah

Originally from Pauri Garhwal district Anil Baluni is considered close to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah

Talking to reporters, Jha expressed his gratitude for nominating him for the Rajya Sabha seat.

Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot threw his hat into the ring from Madhya Pradesh.

Gandhinagar: After the Rajya Sabha elections in Gujarat last August that turned into a prestige battle between the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress, another fight is on the cards for the upper house elections scheduled for 23 March. Congress party leader and former minister Rajmani Patel too submitted the nomination form. If any candidate does not get 41 votes of first preference, Ms Rahatkar will get all the BJP and Sena MLAs' votes of second preference and might win the elections, according to a BJP leader. The last date to file nominations ended on Monday. While Rathwa filed his nomination at the last moment, a surprise was sprung by the party as Congress leader and former bureaucrat P K Valera declared he has filed nomination as an Indepen-dent as the party had learnt that BJP was fielding a third candidate.

COLOMBIA: Right-wing Parties Form New Majority In The Senate
Their projected low performance is in part due to public outrage at the atrocities they committed throughout the conflict. More than 6 million votes were cast in the three-way right-wing primary and 3.5 million in the two-way left-wing contest.

Altogether seven candidates are in the fray from the state where polling will be held for four seats.

"As many as 11 BJP candidates and an independent filed their nomination papers today". Both the parties are in a position to send two candidates each to the Rajya Sabha.

In UP, an RS candidate needs 37 votes to be elected.

Green Valley Investors LLC Lowers Position in EXACT Sciences Co. (NASDAQ:EXAS)
It is negative, as 50 investors sold BA shares while 609 reduced holdings. 87 funds opened positions while 207 raised stakes. Jennison Limited Liability Co holds 0.01% of its portfolio in Exact Sciences Corporation (NASDAQ:EXAS) for 144,511 shares.

But with the recent spat over AP's funding (with the Centre) in the Union Budget 2018, and with both the TDP and BJP withdrawing their ministers from the state and union cabinets, the Telugu Desam Party led by AP chief minister N. Chandrababu Naidu has chose to play it safe and avoid mudslinging over the RS seats.

Since the BSP has only 19 MLAs in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly and will not be able to win a seat on its own, it has been assured of the support of the Samajwadi Party following an understanding between former chief ministers Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav. Hence, Congress president Ashok Chavan is trying for unopposed elections. The Congress which has seven MLAs has also made a decision to support the BSP candidate. While Farooq filed his nomination papers before Assembly Secretary S Murthy, who is also the returning officer on Friday, he filed another set of nomination papers today. Union HRD Minister Prakash Javadekar had filed his papers earlier. All the six candidates fielded till Sunday - three from the BJP and one each from ally Shiv Sena, Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party - were expected to sail through without a contest.

After days of consultation and speculation, the TDP on Sunday announced that it is renominating sitting Rajya Sabha MP C.M.Ramesh and senior advocate K.Ravindra Kumar, who is known to be at the helm of TDP's legal cell. Yadav is also a BJP national general secretary.

Google Assistant is Now Available for iPad
As an exclusive to the iPad, Google will even let you use the Assistant in multitasking on iOS 11. In addition to Android tablet support, Google's also rolling out the red carpet for the iPad.

All six candidates are contesting without any opposition so their election is a foregone conclusion.

Latest News