EC releases schedule for 58 Rajya Sabha seats from 16 states

Polls to 58 RS seats in 16 states on March 23

EC releases schedule for 58 Rajya Sabha seats from 16 states

Bhubaneswar: Election Commission of India (ECI) today announced the date for holding elections to 58 seats in the Rajya Sabha from 16 States including Odisha which are due to expire on their retirement in April-May 2018.

Fifty-eight Rajya Sabha seats will be falling empty in April while a by-poll for a seat from Kerala will also be conducted on the same day as M P Veerendra Kumar had resigned in December past year, though his term was to conclude in April 2022.

Both polling and counting of votes will take place on 23 March.

Amid Pak shelling along LoC, 500 evacuated to safety in Baramulla
The ceasefire violations by India are a threat to regional peace and security and may lead to a strategic miscalculation. Pakistan Army troops gave befitting response and targeted Indian army post that initiated fire on civil population.

Among those Rajya Sabha MPs whose terms are drawing towards conclusion, 9 represent the state of Uttar Pradesh.

March 12 is the last date for filing of nominations, and March 15, the last date for their withdrawal.

Ravi Shankar Prasad, Dharmendra Pradhan, JP Nadda, Thaawarchand Gehlot and Ramdas Athawale, all Union Ministers, have their term ending too.

Barnaby Joyce sexual harassment accuser wanted Nationals leader held accountable
Mr Joyce has previously called her allegation "spurious and defamatory" - and has called for the matter to be referred to the police so he can mount his defence.

The issue of notification for the polls will take place on March 5. Uttar Pradesh has the highest number of retiring members, at 10, followed by Maharashtra and Bihar (6), Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal (5), Gujarat and Karnataka (4), Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Odisha and Rajasthan (3), Jharkhand (2), and Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand (1).

At present, though the BJP is the single largest party in the House with 58 members, four more than the Congress (54), the entire Opposition put together has greater numerical strength, which is why it calls the shots.

AC Milan chief 'sorry for Arsenal' after Europa League draw
In spite of their loss, Arsenal progressed to the last 16 on aggregate, but Wenger was not happy with his team's performance. Marcel Schmelzer's late equalizer saw Borussia Dortmund grab a 1-1 draw at Atalanta BC to edge into the next round.

Latest News