Baker Mayfield wins Davey O'Brien and Maxwell Awards

Baker Mayfield wins Davey O'Brien and Maxwell Awards

Baker Mayfield wins Davey O'Brien and Maxwell Awards

And of course, Mayfield is considered the heavy favorite to win the Heisman Trophy, which will be announced Saturday night in NY.

Baker Mayfield is The Associated Press college football Player of the Year, becoming the fourth Oklahoma quarterback to win the award since it was established in 1998.

The Bednarik Award, which is given to the best defensive player in college football, was won by Alabama defensive back Minkah Fitzpatrick.

Love and Louisville's Lamar Jackson each earned two first-place votes for the AP award.

Skirball Fire burns 150 acres near Getty Museum
The Southbound lanes of the 405 Freeway are now open through the Sepulveda pass, but the Northbound lanes are closed. UCLA announced classes were voluntary Wednesday and urged all faculty and students living off-campus to stay home.

Below is the list of award winners announced during Thursday's ceremony. Jason White won in back-to-back years in 2003 and 2004, while Sam Bradford earned the title in 2008.

Mayfield is a former walk-on who has led the No. 2 Sooners to the College Football Playoff, where they will play No. 3 Georgia in the Rose Bowl on January 1.

Mayfield is 262-369 passing for 4,340 yards, 41 touchdowns and five interceptions.

"This is special to me", Mayfield said of the AP award in a release. I have to give a lot of the credit to my teammates and coaches, they are the reason that I am in position to win this award and I could not have done it without them. "To receive this award is an honor and it's something just a few years ago I never thought would happen", Mayfield said.

Two Of R. Kelly's Homes Were Robbed While He Was On Tour
After being granted a search warrant for Walker's home, law enforcement found some of Kelly's property there. Kelly's team revealed to authorities that Alfonso Walker was merely a part-time employee.

Mayfield has thrown a TD pass in a Big 12-record 39 consecutive games (every contest of his OU career), which is the third-longest streak in FBS history.

The senior quarterback took home some major hardware during college football's annual award night as he was named the Davey O'Brien Award victor, Maxwell Offensive Player of the Year and Walter Camp Player of the Year.

Oklahoma senior quarterback Baker Mayfield took home plenty of hardware Thursday night, winning four major awards in what is expected to be a precursor to hoisting the Heisman Trophy.

Bayonetta 3 In Development For Switch: 1
Given that Bayonetta 2 never jumped from the Wii U, it's likely the game will remain a sole exclusive on Nintendo Switch . The first two Bayonetta titles will also be coming to the Switch in a dual release on February 16 in North America.

Latest News