Judge unanimous choice for AL Rookie of Year

204649 ONEG

Tony Kubek had a superb rookie season with the Yankees

Bellinger was honored Monday as the unanimous victor of the National League rookie of the year.

"I haven't changed anything since Day One, " Judge said of his approach after Game 3 of the AL Championship Series, when his three-run homer and sensational catch in right field contributed to a win against the eventual world champion Houston Astros.

4 people shot, 2 killed, in downtown Atlanta shooting
Police are now searching for him and are asking witnesses to call the Atlanta Police Department or Crime Stoppers at 404-577-TIPS. In addition to Stizz, last night's lineup featured New York's Levi Carter , Boston's Big Leano and Atlanta's Givon .

Judge, 25, is also a finalist for the AL MVP (which will be announced Thursday) after leading the AL in home runs with 52. He broke Mark McGwire's rookie home run record, which sealed this award as much as something can be "sealed" when it was already guaranteed before the last days of the regular season.

The Yankees slugger, and former Fresno State baseball star, was a unanimous choice for the honor, as was Dodgers outfielder Cody Bellinger in the National League voting.

China hopes Quad meet at Asean summit not directed against it
Joint Secretary (South division) in the MEA, Vinay Kumar and Joint Secretary (East Asia) Pranay Verma attended the meeting.

Judge has become the nexus of New York's new generation of Baby Bombers and his No. 99 is the highest-selling jersey in the major leagues. Other Yankees to win the award, which began in 1947, were Gil McDougald (1951), Bob Grim (1954), Tony Kubek (1957), Tom Tresh (1962), Stan Bahnsen (1968), Thurman Munson (1970) and Dave Righetti (1981). Bellinger made his debut with the Dodgers in April. The previous record of 38 had been held by Frank Robinson, who earned the 1956 NL Rookie of the Year Award, and Wally Berger. He added 97 RBIs, 10 stolen bases, a.267/.352/.581 slash line and 4.2 WAR as he replaced Adrian Gonzalez as the Dodgers' everyday first baseman.

The two Rookie of the Year races, however, provided absolutely zero drama. In the AL, Andrew Benintendi finished second, followed by Trey Mancini and Matt Olson.

UK parliament offered vote on Brexit deal
Antoinette Sandbach told the Press Association: "The announcement is meaningless if, for any reason, the timetable slips beyond March 2019".

Paul DeJong of the St. Louis Cardinals was second in the voting with the Pittsburgh Pirates' Josh Bell third.

Latest News