Sierra Leone Agrees to Accept 27 Citizens Deported from US

Sierra Leone Agrees to Accept 27 Citizens Deported from US

Sierra Leone Agrees to Accept 27 Citizens Deported from US

State Department spokeswoman Heather Nauert confirmed that the restrictions have been imposed in all four countries, effective Wednesday.

The move comes as President Donald Trump's administration places visa restrictions on four African and Asian nations that have refused to accept citizens deported from the U.S.

The new rules, which go into effect on Wednesday (Thursday NZT), do not affect visas that have already been granted.

The visa sanctions vary in severity, with Eritrea facing the harshest. Citizens applying for B visas - temporary visitor visas for business or tourism - within Eritrea will be rejected, according to one of the cables.

The State Department declined comment on the cables, saying it would not discuss internal communications.

Qualcomm claims Android always beats the iPhone to new features
However, the company has contributed a lot in various technologies that are used by the consumers on Android smartphones. Celebrate ten years with us! Qualcomm also seems to think the HTC One M7 had a dual-camera system; it didn't.

(Ecofin Agency) - Starting today, September 13, 2017, Guinean officials will no more be able to get United States visas.

Cambodia faces the lightest sanctions.

Likewise, in Sierra Leone, the visa sanctions affect Foreign Ministry and immigration officials applying for tourist and business visas at the U.S. Embassy in Freetown, according to another cable posted by Reuters. The sanctions are even narrower in Cambodia, targeting employees of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs with the rank of director general or higher and their families.

It said the suspension was implemented under United States immigration law in response to Cambodia's refusal to accept back its nationals whom the USA wants to repatriate.

In practice, the USA has rarely taken that step - just twice in the past decade and a half, according to a Department of Homeland Security spokesman.

DUP backs Labour over NHS pay cap
Union leaders raised the possibility of illegal strikes while demanding an immediate 5% pay boost for all public sector workers. At the beginning of proceedings in the House of Commons, DUP MP Ian Paisley signalled his party's support for Labour's motion.

"Starting from September 13, 2017, the USA embassy will no more issue B, F, J and M visas to Guinean officials and their family members, with limited exceptions", U.S. embassy in Guinea revealed in a statement.

Three of the four countries included in the current visa restrictions were on a list of nations deemed "recalcitrant" by USA immigration authorities in July. The countries are among a dozen that the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) had previously deemed "recalcitrant" in the repatriation of criminal aliens.

Other countries listed as being recalcitrant in accepting deportees from the US include China, Cuba, Vietnam, Laos, Iran, Burma, Morocco and South Sudan. Neither department would identify the nations by name at the time.

The Trump administration has put heavy diplomatic pressure on countries that resist accepting deportees.

Lady Gaga's Netflix Documentary Will Detail Her Struggle With Fibromyalgia
But beyond the celebrity fodder, the documentary most strikingly reveals Gaga's ongoing battle with fibromyalgia . Five Foot Two premieres on Netflix on September 22.

Latest News